Birds

It’s been a while since I’ve had enough time to write a thoughtful mini story; I hope you enjoy! 🙂

The wind whispered through the dark, empty trees like a warning in a foreign language. Winter was coming, and with winter the chittering of the of the birds vanished, and in their absence silence would reign over the wood.

Only my footsteps sounded through the space, nothing but the bark of the trees and the white, powdery snow looked back at me. I hadn’t any idea why I was wandering like this. I had no reason to.

It was cold. It was so cold. But to me it was welcome. I deserved no better. My broken and weary heart absorbed the cold, greeting it like an old friend. It was already chilled to begin with. What I had seen in these woods has chilled it. I couldn’t stop thinking about it. It was terrible.

It had been the spring. I had been walking through the forest again. Except this time, the singing birds were all around me, in addition to sickly sweet scents of the blooming flowers. It was a jubilant time for the forest. What I had seen had not been so joyous.

On the ground, just below a branch, upon which was a bird’s nest. A baby bird. One of the many which had hatched recently. It was a tradition of many to find out if the a baby bird could fly simply by pushing them out of the nest. Oh how cruel mother nature is.

The baby bird was alive, but only just barely. I crouched down to look at the small creature, and its struggling chest puffing in and out. It was so broken. Her own mother had caused her this fate. To die on the ground, surrounded by nature’s beauty, only to be killed by another one of its tendencies. To die on the ground, surrounded by the new weeds, grasses and flowers also among the roots of the newly rejuvenated trees.

The baby bird was straddling the line between life and death, such as I was, in a limbo. But as of now I haven’t any idea upon which side of that line I will reside. I had always lived in my small home in the woods. For what reason I liked to venture out of it so often, I didn’t know. I didn’t know anything, save that I was lonely. It felt to me, that I would not even have anybody to watch my final breath, as I did for the little bird. I thought that in that moment, I would be completely alone, no matter what came next.

2 thoughts on “Birds

Leave a Reply

