Spend it

At first, we thought that the black liquid was oil, that we’d struck it rich and that we’d be able to retire and live in leisure. We actually started writing down all of the ways we’d spend the money. Our first choice was to get an elegant mansion, but soon Ellie’s morality came out; she said that the best thing to do would be donate all of the profit we made to charity. She said that the last thing the world needed was another oil company, who would drill until the last drop and spill much of the oil they did find.

Richard, on the other hand, was already thinking of all the fancy cars which he would buy, the boats and the vacation homes and the private islands. He may have been wishfully thinking, for we hadn’t any idea what amount of possible oil we had just found. But he had a good reason for it; his family had never had much money, and everywhere he had gotten in life had been due to his great intelligence. I couldn’t blame him for wishing for such decadent things.

I wasn’t sure which way would be the best path, however; it would be wonderful to help people, but I too found myself thinking of how I could never have to work another day in my life. I would never again have to struggle to support my dreams, for I would be able to do anything I wanted. I could travel the world, see all of its grandeur. All of the palaces and forests and lands which I hadn’t even heard of before. Adventure sings in every person’s blood, awakened by hopes and dreams. Mine was a great opera, from the great excitement of the money to do such a thing. Having the money to waste on oneself, so to see what the world had to offer me. But I too had moral engagements such as Ellie; I also wished to make a positive influence in the world.

It is the sort of decision which I never wish to have to make. I was happy the way I was, and I could still make a difference from my small station, no matter how minuscule it would be in the grand scheme of things. But we did not end up having to make that decision.

3 thoughts on “Spend it

Leave a Reply

